Les Places d’Or, it is 15 editions which confirm an exclusive and exceptional salon status. The show celebrates its quarter of existence by highlighting the links between the crafts and the packaging industries. Workshops are offered to visitors wishing to discover craftsmen. The initiative confirms the artistic approach of the exhibition, which concludes its 25th anniversary on a positive note.

Editorial by Reinold Geiger, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the L’OCCITANE Group

For 26 years now, the Les Places d’Or Exhibition has been bringing together the best in packaging and celebrating know-how which is as discreet as it is indispensable. As an essential ingredient in every luxury product, packaging serves as a flavour enhancer, without actually appearing on the menu. Like a film score, it accompanies, draws attention and reveals. By highlighting the contents, it makes those contents shine.

I am particularly honoured to preside over this 2020 edition, which is taking place at such an unusual time, both in terms of health constraints and the lack of economic visibility. We are facing a huge challenge, but I am convinced that we will be able to show resilience thanks to the spirit of innovation ingrained in the very DNA of packaging.

I am all the more convinced of this because I know this sector particularly well. As a fresh engineering graduate, I launched my professional career by creating a company specializing in packaging for the cosmetics industry.

Today, the up-and-coming generation is presenting us with a new dilemma, a creative challenge of sorts: How are we to showcase a luxury product while avoiding the pitfalls of over-packaging, which is now rightly shunned? The time has come for us to develop new concepts and use non-polluting materials.

There is no shortage of public and private initiatives in this area. Thus, L’OCCITANE en Provence was one of 400 companies to sign the New Plastics Economy Global Commitment. Spearheaded by the Ellen MacArthur Foundation, it sets the goal of abandoning problematic plastic packaging and increasing the use of recycled plastics fivefold by 2025.

Determined to play an important role in these developments, the L’OCCITANE Group is committed to ensuring that all its bottles are made from 100% recycled plastic by 2025.

Sustainable development is no longer optional—it needs to play an integral role from the earliest stages of our product design processes. Given the situation, Les Places d’Or is more relevant than ever, for it is here that innovations can be shared, generated and passed along.

About the L’OCCITANE Group


The L’OCCITANE Group is an international group that manufactures and retails beauty and well-being products that are rich in natural and organic ingredients. A global leader in the premium beauty market, the Group has more than 3,400 retail outlets, including 1,572 owned stores, and is present in 90 countries. Through its six brands – L’OCCITANE en Provence, Melvita, Erborian, L’OCCITANE au Brésil, LimeLife and ELEMIS – the Group offers new and extraordinary beauty experiences, using high-quality products that respect nature, the environment and the people in it.

Newsletter

Les Places d’Or, c’est 15 éditions qui confortent un statut de salon exclusif et exceptionnel. Le salon célèbre son quart d’existence en mettant en valeur les liens entre les métiers d’arts et les industries du packaging. Des ateliers sont proposés aux visiteurs désireux de découvrir des artisans d’art. L’initiative confirme l’approche artistique de l’exposition qui conclut son 25ème anniversaire sur une note positive.

Reinold GEIGER, Président-directeur général du Groupe L’OCCITANE

Voilà 26 ans que le salon Les Places d’Or réunit le meilleur du packaging et célèbre un savoir-faire aussi discret qu’incontournable. En effet, rouage essentiel du luxe, le rôle de l’emballage est d’être un exhausteur de saveurs, sans pour autant figurer au menu. Comme une musique de film, il accompagne, souligne et attire l’attention. En mettant en valeur, il fait briller son contenu.

Je suis particulièrement honoré de présider cette édition 2020 qui s’inscrit dans une période si particulière, tant du point de vue des contraintes sanitaires que du manque de visibilité économique. Nous faisons face à un immense défi mais je suis convaincu que nous saurons faire preuve de résilience grâce à l’esprit d’innovation inscrit dans l’ADN du packaging.

J’en suis d’autant plus convaincu que je connais particulièrement bien ce secteur : alors que j’étais un ingénieur fraichement diplômé, j’ai démarré mon parcours professionnel en créant une société spécialisée dans les emballages dédiés aux cosmétiques.

Aujourd’hui, le dilemme qui nous est adressé par la génération montante est un nouveau périmètre de créativité : comment mettre en scène un produit de luxe en évitant les pièges du suremballage, aujourd’hui décrié ? A nous de trouver de nouveaux concepts et de recourir à des matériaux non polluants.

Dans ce domaine, les initiatives publiques et privées ne manquent pas. Ainsi, parmi 400 entreprises, L’OCCITANE en Provence a signé l’Engagement Mondial de la Nouvelle Économie des Plastiques. Encadré par la Fondation Ellen MacArthur, il fixe comme objectif l’abandon des emballages plastiques problématiques et de multiplier par cinq l’utilisation de plastiques recyclés d’ici 2025.

Déterminé à jouer un rôle important dans ces développements, le Groupe L’OCCITANE s’est engagé à ce que la totalité de ses flacons soient fabriqués à partir de 100% de plastique recyclé d’ici 2025.

Le développement durable n’est plus une option. Nous devons l’intégrer dès les premières étapes de conception de nos produits. Dans ce contexte, le salon des Places d’Or a plus que jamais sa raison d’être. C’est ici que les innovations pourront être partagées, suscitées et diffusées.

A propos du Groupe L’OCCITANE

Le Groupe L’OCCITANE est un groupe international qui fabrique et commercialise des produits de cosmétique et de bien-être à base d’ingrédients naturels et biologiques. Leader dans le marché de la beauté premium, le Groupe a plus de 3 400 points de vente, dont 1 572 boutiques en propre, et une présence dans 90 pays. Avec six marques – L’OCCITANE en Provence, Melvita, Erborian, L’OCCITANE au Brésil, LimeLife et ELEMIS – le Groupe propose des expériences de beauté nouvelles et singulières et des produits de haute qualité, dans le respect de l’homme et de son environnement.